Willie Nelson – PBS Soundstage – Chicago, IL 9.28.2009

Once again Willie Nelson has put together a new project that has me very excited.    For those that missed the PBS Soundstage television broadcast, hopefully this will hold you over until the record comes out.

Willie is plugging his soon to be released record Country Music.   I’ve been fired up for this release ever since Linda posted about it on Still Is Still Moving.   The album is produced by T Bone Burnett and also includes Buddy Miller, who unfortunately doesn’t play on this show.

For this show Willie pulls together a bunch of the best Bluegrass and Old Time musicians and plays a bunch of new (for him) tunes.   It would be great to see The Willie Nelson Bluegrass Band on tour this summer.   An appearance at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival looks unlikely, along with one from me.

“Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

MP3 Download CLICK me (songs are in a zip file)

Willie Nelson – PBS Soundstage – Chicago, IL – 2009-09-28

01. Whiskey River
02. Man With The Blues
03. You Done Me Wrong
04. Cry, Cry Darlin’
05. Dark As A Dungeon
06. Poison Love
07. Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down
08. Freight Train Boogie
09. Drinkin’ Champagne & Feelin’ No Pain
10. Dream Of Me
11. Just Because You Asked Me
12. Trouble In Mind
13. Whiskey River reprise

Willie Nelson Bluegrass Band:
Willie Nelson – Guitar
Riley Baugus – Banjo
Jim Lauderdale – Backing Vocals and Acoustic Guitar
Russ Paul – Pedal Steel
Dennis Crouch – Bass
Mickey Raphael – Harmonica
Ronnie McCoury – Mandolin
Stuart Duncan – Fiddle

* If your like the content here, you can grab the RSS feed or get updates via email, because there are more great shows to come.

Share this post:

Related Posts:


  1. Wow. What a set! “Satan, Your Kingdom…” is bow-down material. It sounds like they are somewhere deep in a dark woods covered in a thick mist playing this tune…I can hear it echoing over the hills into the neighbouring towns.

    Thanks, mate.

  2. He was an amazing entertainer, still his voice too young

  3. Willie Nelson’s latest release, “Country Music”, is, indeed, very aptly titled. This is good old-fashioned country music at its best, presented in that distinctively smooth way that only Willie can manage. Right off the bat, the first song, “Man With The Blues” hits you with that beautiful bluegrass combination of upbeat rhythms and hard luck lyrics. It’s a kind of schizophrenic feel, but it makes sense that the music should be an uplifting counterbalance to the sadness of the lyrics. That’s what bluegrass is all about, after all. The level of the musicianship throughout this album is excellent. But I’m not at all surprised. All of the Rounder Records CD’s in my collection have this same quality and the musicians all have the virtuosity that bluegrass music demands. It shines through on all the songs on this album, but of course, most particularly in “Man With The Blues”. Willie Nelson on gut string acoustic guitar, Buddy Miller on electric guitar, Chris Sharp on acoustic guitar, and Dennis Crouch on acoustic bass all keep that bottom and middle together, giving free reign to Riley Baugus on banjo, Ronnie McCoury on mandolin, Russell Pahl on pedal steel, Stuart Duncan on fiddle, and Mickey Raphael on harmonica to show off their talents on their axes. It was a very fun song, and very satisfying, especially with Jim Lauderdale doing vocal harmonies with Willie.

Speak Your Mind