Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Band – Wanee Music Festival – 4.17.2010

Since it is the blogs birthday I thought it would be appropriate to go to the man that inspired its beginning, Derek Trucks.

This is the new band I mentioned earlier that Derek was forming.   Alas the lineup, listed below, is a little different from the one I envisioned.   I am pretty fired up that Oteil and Kofi Burbridge are playing together.

The husband and wife duo are pictured here with Hubert Sumlin and Steve Winwood.

The band plays a bunch of new material they have worked up.   They have written some new tunes and also cover some real gems.   Including one of the greatest songs ever written, “Corrina, Corrina”, by Taj Mahal.   The tunes to close out the set and also the encore are phenomenal.

Listen to a new tune by the band “Come And See About Me” here:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

MP3 Download CLICK me (songs are in a zip file)

Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Band – Wanee Music Festival – Live Oak, FL – 4.17.2010
Band Lineup:

Derek Trucks — Guitar
Susan Tedeschi — Guitar, Vocals
Oteil Burbridge — Bass
Kofi Burbridge — Keyboards, Flute
JJ Johnson — Drums
Tyler Greenwell — Drums
Mike Mattison — Vocals
Javier Colon — Vocals

Disc One
01. Love Has Something Else To Say > Hate To See You Go
02. Midnight In Harlem
03. Give It Up or Let Me Go
04. Time Machine >
05. Come and See About Me
06. Corinna
07. Nobody’s Free
08. Band intros > Don’t Drift Away
09. Comin’ Home
10. Look Around
11. Too Late
Disc Two
01. Vusi Mahlasela >
02. Serve It Up
03. I’ve Got a Feeling >
04. Woman’s Gotta Have It
05. encore call
06. I Believe in Music >
07. Space Captain

* If your like the content here, you can grab the RSS feed or get updates via email, because there are more great shows to come.

Share this post:

Related Posts:


  1. Luke…what a way to wake up in the morning (here in the UK)! I opened up the gmail and found and email from IGTBA. I missed the speculation on this newly curated DT band.

    Ah, the husband and wife duo. This has to be one of the most talented of the lot. I gave “Come See ABout Me” a spin…it starts off with those gutsy-sweet vocals from Susan and that choppy-riff from Derek.

    Downloading the rest now. Thanks, mate.

    • Yeh that cool little he plays I like quiet a bit. Some awesome songs here.

      I googled “I Believe In Music” to find some info on the tune. It’s by a guy Mac Davis. Anyway, your site came up in the google search terms.

  2. I would love to get the lyrics to “Look Around”. Does anyone know where to find them?

  3. whoa! thanks for posting this!
    i’m looking forward to the songs you mentioned as highlights but also the bonnie & delaney cover of ‘comin’ home’ that i first heard them do together at the clapton-fest here in chicago last year. it absolutely floored me to hear it after completely forgetting it for years. great song.
    i hadn’t checked back here for awhile and spotted your (old) site in my favorites….i’m glad i did.
    thanks again!

  4. Nathan Steele says:

    Good sound. vocals seem a little muffled at times, but definitly worth download. thanks.

Speak Your Mind